jump to navigation

You wanna know what’s bad about Finland? January 24, 2010

Posted by Maija Saarinen in Opinions.
trackback

Hmm..where should I start? There really are lots of bad sides in Finland. I’m not saying there aren’t any good sides, but I prefer telling you about the bad ones, because I think I’m just really good at nagging about stuff. 🙂

Maybe I’ll start by telling you about the people in Finland. I’m sure you’ve heard some stereotypes about Finnish people. Well, a big part of them are true. You see, we Finns all have our own little (or big, HUGE) territories, which you’re not allowed to cross or walk on to. We think it’s kind of disgusting when someone’s talking to you and you can smell the person’s bad breath and he/she spits on you while talking. You know, that’s kind of groce, right? Also, never approach a Finn you don’t know with your arms wide open. No no. They’ll probably just get you a restraining order and think you’re some kind of a lunatic. Or pervert. I also feel it’s almost a responsibility for me to tell you how to walk on the streets of Finland. The rules are pretty simple: whatever you do, don’t look anyone in the eye. Just stare at the ground while walking. DON’T SMILE to anybody, or they’ll call the police and tell them that there’s an outpatient running free! When you’re using public transport, for example a bus, do not sit next to anyone! Unless the bus is totally full. And if you have to sit next to someone, AVOID physical contact. Here in Finland, we don’t talk to strangers, unless we’re about to die or something as extreme as dying. Only old people do that. That’s their job. And it’s your job to get totally furious if someone you don’t know tries to bother your sacred solitude. Got it?

Now I’ll move on to the climate of Finland! I have to wipe sweat of my forehead just thinking about it. The winter. Yeah yeah it’s pretty in Lapland and it’s just great to go snowboarding and stuff, but it just doesn’t fix the coldness in your bones! I wake up and it’s completely dark outside, even your natural instinct tells you it’s not morning yet. But it is! How great. When you’re dragging yourself to school you’re going to have to wait for a bus at least for half an hour (because they’re always too early or very very late) in -20 celcius degrees!!! All of that just so you can work  your butt of at school. Oh, and then when you finally get out of there, the sun is setting! How great! After the winter the sun starts to show itself every once in a while. The snow melts and there’s slush and dog poop everywhere. Remember, the Finnish spring weather is very twisted. You think it’s really warm and you can go out in a t-shirt, but the next day you’re going to have a fever and a flu, so just stick to the quilted jacket. When the summer finally arrives, you can’t sleep! It’s too bright outside! The sun only sets for a couple of hours, and your sleeping rhythm will be totally messed up. Summer is the time when Finnish people get alcoholic. There are wasted people everywhere! How cool! Sometimes it rains the WHOLE summer. Just try to figure out something to do those days. Boring. Major boredom. In the summer there’s also lots of national holidays or some, Vappu is originally a celebration for the working people in Finland. Guess how it’s celebrated? Yes, getting drunk as monkey. About a month after that the students of Helsinki graduate from junior high school -> everyone goes to Hietsu (a popular beach in Helsinki) to get drunk! There are so many people in Hietsu that day, that there’s no use for cellphone! There’s no service! 🙂 Then, the most traditional drinking party ever. JUHANNUS. Juhannus is in the middle of the Finnish summer, so many people drown because of the warm waters and stupid ideas of going swimming when you’re too drunk to walk. And then, at the end of the summer, you just have to get drunk just because the school starts and it’s so depressing. All in all, during the entire summer, half of the Finnish people go to their summer cottages just so they can get stinged by mosquitoes and bitten by vipers. So it might be that you have drink all by yourself while everyone else is spending the whole summer in some stupid shacks behind God’s back. Finally the most depressing season of the year, autumn. It sucks. It’s cold, it’s wet, it rains every single day, the school has just started and there’s absolutely nothing to do. You know the Finnish people are the most depressed nation in the world?

My birthday party. There's not much parties in Finland, so as you see, when there is, usually everyone crams in. :)

This is a picture from my birthday. As you see, there's A LOT of people (that's only 1/3). This is how we party. 🙂

So, please come and visit Finland, maybe you’ll learn something from our pessimistic and cynical attitudes! 🙂 And by the way, I could come up with millions of other reasons to hate Finland, but I want you to figure them out by yourselves. 🙂

Comments»

1. Juiceface Madman - June 18, 2020

marry me

2. Matt - March 17, 2018

I get the feeling You want to keep this place to yourselves

3. QChara - January 15, 2018

OMG I NEED to go to Finland

4. S - October 24, 2017

I hate Finland mostly. I am a finn. I hate it´s bad climate. Summers are now getting worse for example. I hate also the location of Finland, too north and east.

People have one of the lowest purchase power of Europe in Finland. There are numerous poor people in Finland who has to decide whether to buy food or medicines depending on money. Finns have smaller houses than average in Europe and cars in Finland are the oldest in average in the Europe.

Finland is also a country in which there are no other values than money. Because all decision making of politics is based on money – no other values – it makes finns one of the most depressed nation in Europe. The majority of the Finns believe that available money is the only basis for decision making in politics because there is no conversation of values in Finnish society and politics.

5. vanessa - January 14, 2014

I know what makes a Finnish person REALLY angry: when they
are hired to houseclean for a Swede!!

6. Markku Hälinen - January 14, 2014

I would just like to know how many other countries have you lived in, i just feel that you are a person of very negative outlook.

7. Anna - December 31, 2013

mind wander – The attitude is neutral. Nothing against other religions. In Finland we have many foreign people studying here as well.

8. mind wander - December 22, 2013

well…I read it and it was useful.. I havea few questions.I am an Iranian girl who believe to Islam. I wanna to come Helinski to peruse my education.I would be very grateful If you tell me the attitude of yourself and fininsh people about girls who wear Hejab(I mean Islamic cover as you can see in Muslim countries). do you have any negative look to them or you welcome such a person. or please suggest me it is worth coming and staying there fora few educational years or it is better I choose another country.

hellbent - March 13, 2014

if you dont have a choice, pls choose another country. In these matters v few cities or locations in Finland are easy as there is still very regressive thinking here. But otherwise calm place and good place to study.

9. sofia - July 16, 2013

hashahshas your article is totally fun! we brazilians also have a love-hate relationship with our country, and we LOVE to criticise every bit of it… specially the government and the kind of chaotic structure. what i can’t imagine is resisting to such a extreme weather like the finnish people does!

10. vanessa stafford - May 9, 2013

I’m only half Finnish, and I really liked your article. It was so funny I laughed SO LOUD I woke my neighbors up. I told them I can’t help it because I’m half Finnish so I’m a lunatic. They understood right away. I”m also part Russian, so my condition is even worse than you can imagine. And it’s true that Americans are fat. IT’s horrible. But I’m fat also. But not too much. I’m chubby.

11. Kalev (@klv_78) - April 3, 2013

recien lo leo,
interesante, y divertido algunas partes.

12. olivia - September 1, 2012

ya know that is just rude im finnish thx alot for all the insults. p.s america is full of fat people so its no better

13. giuseppw - August 16, 2012

hi I’D LIKE TO TALK TO YOU BY EMAIL PLEASE CONTACT ME
MY MAIL IS VALENZA1985@GOOGLEMAIL. COM

14. john - May 11, 2011

thats very interesting but i have heard that they get relly pissed off at some things ,do you happen to know what really veeves your average fin?

Ms Leino - May 11, 2011

We get pissed off when the Swedes beat us at hockey…

15. Nicholas Westman - April 9, 2011

Deep down you’re a lively Finn and a refreshing antidote to the normal people you portray in your pen sketch. Where will you be in 10 years’ time?

If you want my nitpicking here it is: there’s no use for a cellphone; have a drink by yourself. There, you didn’t notice my corrections, did you?

16. Johanna - February 24, 2010

lmao 😀 thank you, you made my day 😀

Maija Saarinen - February 28, 2010

No problem! 😀

17. Ms Leino - February 1, 2010

Contents: Excellent
Refreshing sarcasm! Your wits are sharp – like the edge of a razor! Even though the subject is prone to slang expressions, your English is fluent and eloquent with challenging phrasal structures. And you made me laugh out loud!

However, the third paragraph is WAAAAYYYYYYY too long. Splitting it up would have made this lighter reading… And yet, I was not bored for one second 😉 Your text shows character!

Media / appearance: Good
For this kind of a topic it is hard to think of appropriate media, but maybe you could have found some links or videos supporting your theory 🙂 The picture you have included here (with a charming caption) doesn’t really fit in with the text. Aren’t Finns supposed to be very private and secluded people?

Grammar: Excellent
– bad/good things ABOUT Finland or Finland has its pros and cons
– MANY of them are true
– walk INTO
– gross = ällöä
– smile AT
– sweat OFF my forehead, work your butt OFF
– Finnish people BECOME alcoholics
– there ARE lots of national holidays
– sting, stung, stung
– Did you know that…
– on your own = itsekseen, by yourselves = yksikseen

18. immonen - January 25, 2010

ok, so your blog was a bit too long to my likingj and you had some misspellings and sutch. This Blog was quite great in other words your blog was a succes for a school project.


Leave a comment